Close

Current Conditions
79 ° Mostly Cloudy

Free boater safety course meets New York law requirements

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon, in partnership with the Erie County Sheriff’s office, will hold a free Boater Safety Course that allows boaters to meet the requirements of a new New York state law that took effect on May 1.

The course will be held from 5-9 p.m. on Tuesday, June 3 and 5-9 p.m. on Wednesday, June 4, at The Lodge at Woodlawn Beach, located at S-3580 Lakeshore Road, Blasdell. Registrants must attend both sessions of the two-day course in order to be eligible for a New York State Boating safety card.

The new state law specifies that individuals who were born on or after May 1, 1996, who are at least 10- years-of-age, must successfully complete a boating course to be able to operate a powered/motor boat.

Also, according to New York state law, operators may not operate a personal watercraft unless they are at least 14 years of age and hold a boater safety certificate for having completed an 8-hour classroom based course of instruction.

“I want to thank the Sheriff’s office for its collaboration with my office to offer this class free of charge to ensure that boaters are receiving the education and training they need to be safe on the waterways this year,” Dixon said. “With the new state law in place, these courses are very important and spaces will fill up fast. Please make sure you RSVP as soon as possible.”

This course is designed as a comprehensive boating safety course, teaching the fundamentals of safe boating operation. It has been approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators.

Class requirements

– Students must be at least 10-years-of-age to attend the course.

– This course requires a minimum of 8 hours of classroom instruction.

– Students must pass a final exam with a score of 76 percent.

- Students will receive a temporary boating safety certificate upon completion of the course.

– Students 18-years-of-age and older will be required to pay a fee to NYS for issuance of a permanent boating safety certificate.

– Permanent boating safety certificates do not expire.

Space is limited. For additional information or to register, contact Dixon at 858-8671 or e-mail lynne.dixon@erie.gov.º


ADD A COMMENT

You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in

Subject
Comments
Submit

Be the first to Comment