Current Conditions
25 ° Cloudy

BOCES inducts eight new members into honor society

CAREER AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION CENTER INDUCTEES: ­ Pictured, front, from left: Courtney Westberg, Mackenzie Riggs, Dennis Davies, Sammantha Bass; back: Ellicottville CTE Principal Noel “Sheehy, Brooklyn Defoe, Samuel Plaisted, Michael Morgan and National Technical Honor Society Advisor Vicki Slevinski. Missing from photo: Matthew Bacher.

SPRINGVILLE — The National Technical Honor Society chapter at Cattaraugus Allegany Board of Cooperative Educational Services Career and Technical Education Center at Ellicottville inducted eight new members during a recent ceremony.

Following a welcome by Ellicottville CTE Principal Noel Sheehy, the new inductees received certificates presented in wood frames crafted by students in the CTE Building Technology program. NTHS Advisor Vicki Slevinski began the candle-lighting ceremony by explaining the importance of knowledge and current members described the seven attributes of a NTHS student: skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship and leadership.

Commended for their scholastic achievements and their choice of a vocational educational pathway were: Matthew Bacher, Franklinville Central School, animal science; Sammantha Bass, Springville-Griffith Institute, early childhood education; Dennis Davies, Ellicottville Central School, building technology; Brooklynn Defoe, Cattaraugus-Little Valley Central School, media communications; Michael Morgan, Pioneer Central School, natural resources; Samuel Plaisted, Franklinville Central School, power equipment technology; Mackenzie Riggs, Salamanca City Schools, medical assisting and Courtney Westberg, Pioneer Central School, early childhood education.


You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment