Current Conditions
30 ° Cloudy

North Collins historical society receives award

RECEIVING ACCOLADES — Secretary Georgianne Bowman accepted the award on behalf of North Collins Historical Society Board of Directors and the other historians and historical societies who collaborated on the exhibit. Photo submitted by Larry Wroblewski.

NORTH COLLINS — On Nov. 2, the North Collins Historical Society received one of three Organizational Awards of Merit given at the annual meeting of the Western New York Association of Historical Agencies, at Genesee Community College. It was awarded in recognition of accomplishment in the field of local and regional history exhibits, within the 12-county area served by WNYAHA.

The North Collins Historical Society has received this award twice before–in 2007 for the exhibit “Agriculture in Southern Erie County” and again in 2012 for the “Modern Military Exhibit.”

The award recognized the “War of 1812 and Civil War in Southern Erie County” exhibit, hosted at North Collins Historical Society Museum in collaboration with the historians and historical societies in Brant, Eden, Evans, Collins, Concord and North Collins.

The exhibit includes documents, artifacts and photographs from those towns, including more than 700 soldier profiles and photos.  As the host organization, North Collins Historical Society prepared and assembled the exhibit.

The exhibit has also included a series of presentations dealing with different aspects of the Civil War.  The next program in this series will be “Boots and Saddles: Union Cavalry in the Civil War” on Nov. 17, beginning at 1:30 p.m., in the museum, located at 2021 Center St. in North Collins. 

Previous programs have dealt with “Civil War Music” and “From Lieutenants to Generals:  The U.S. Infantry in the Civil War.”  Another program is scheduled for early 2014.

The Western New York Association of Historical Agencies is an organization of individuals and institutions committed to the preservation of Western New York’s historical and cultural resources.  It serves the counties of Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Orleans, Steuben, Wyoming and Yates. Organizational Merit Awards are given at the annual meeting, to organizations in recognition of accomplishment in the fields of state, local and regional history for programs, exhibits, publications and individual awards.


You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment