Current Conditions
28 ° Cloudy

Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway awarded by Legislature

BYWAY BUMPED UP — Erie County Legislator John Mills presented a proclamation to the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway at its Nov. 7 session. From left: Ron Klinczar, Pat Lamonte, Bill Krebs, Bob Lennartz, Mills, Kim Bowers, Pat Keem and Dave Field.
BUFFALO — The Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway was recognized by the Erie County Legislature at its Nov. 7 session for its commitment to create and promote the byway, thus bringing visitors to Western New York. Byway president Bob Lennartz accepted the proclamation and was joined by committee members Ron Klinczar, Pat Lamonte, Springville Mayor Bill Krebs, Kim Bowers, Pat Keem and the Springville Center for the Arts President Dave Field. Members who were recognized but not present were Bill Even, Jim Bentley, Scott Kroll, Betty Chetney, Sherrie Pluta and Deborah Chimes.

The proclamation read: “The Erie County Legislature pauses in its deliberations to acknowledge, commend and congratulate the Western New York Southtowns Scenic Byway organization for bringing to fruition their dream to give awareness of the many beautiful and historic sites we have within our own beautiful region of Western New York.”

The idea for the byway was conceived in 2002 by Lennartz and today, features historically significant sites and attractions in Aurora, Boston, Colden, Concord, East Aurora, Orchard Park and Springville. For more information about the scenic byway, visit

You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment