Current Conditions
28 ° Cloudy

Springville Volunteer Fire Department holds annual installation dinner

The Springville Volunteer Fire Department high table

SPRINGVILLE — The Springville Volunteer Fire Department held its annual installation dinner on Jan. 25, during which the officers for the 2014 year were installed.

Mayor William Krebs swore in the officers, after offering his thanks to the members of the department, on behalf of the community.

“This past summer, I observed an active-shooter drill at [Springville-Griffith Institute High School],” he said. “The image of you first responders being escorted down the hall by policemen in armor is not one I will soon forget. That’s an unimaginable emergency, and to see you there as volunteers, makes me appreciate you so much more.

“Every year I serve as an elected official, I appreciate it more,” Krebs continued. “I want to thank you for making sure emergency preparations are in place, and that’s no easy task.”

Krebs also commended the department on the remodeling of the Franklin Street control center, which is now a state-of-the-art response system, as well as successfully negotiating the rent for housing of fire equipment. He noted that there are plans in the works for a new fire garage, that “fit nicely with our village-wide development plans.”

The executive officers who were installed included President Wayne Kreitzbender, Vice President Matt Dygert, Recording Secretary Jim Jozwiak, Financial Secretary Tony Hunt and Treasurer Rosanne Horn.

Line officers who were installed included: Chief Dennis Dains, first assistant chief Michael Cochran, second assistant chief David Klenk, third assistant chief Brian Benstead, fourth assistant chief John Narraway, fire captain Paul Smith, fire lieutenant Jim Siminski and fire lieutenant Jozwiak.

The top five responders, for the most number of hours, were: Chuck Skelton in No. 1, Jozwiak in No. 2, Dygert in No. 3, Leslie Gibbin in No. 4 and Duke Dains in No. 5.

The top 10 call responders were: Narraway, Betty Siminski, Jim Siminski, Adam Tillinghast, Cheryl Gentner, Horn, Jerry Cohoon, Marc Gentner, Dennis Cobo and Denny Dains.

Members who had reached milestone service times with the fire company were recognized for their service. Those included Dains, with 35 years; Siminski, with 35 years; Joziak, with 20 years; Klenk, with 20 years; Benstead, with 10 years; Gibbin, with 5 years and Dygert, with 5 years.

A special service award was given to Horn, nominated by Joziak, for taking over a vacant position, at the last minute. Dains also received an outstanding service award, and Cohoon received an outstanding service award for his work on the sporstmen’s raffle and fund drives.

The emergency medical services responders were recognized for responding to 295 calls, 292 of which were EMS-oriented. The top responders were: Tillinghast, Cheryl Gentner, Betty Siminski, Jim Siminski, Horn, Cohoon, Marc Gentner, Dains and Cobo.

Cohoon, Chuck Skelton and Duke Dains all received appreciation awards, for taking care of the parking lot.

David Klink was recognized for his work on the recruitment drive, “Recruit NY,” and Ken Zittle of K&D Development was recognized for putting in the driveway and other installations at Firemen’s Park. The Rev. Joe Bayne, Erie County Fire Chaplain, was thanked for coming to the installation, as well as many calls, throughout the year.

Narraway’s efforts in setting up a Facebook page were recognized.

In the ladies’ auxiliary, several women received service pins. They were Cathy Ford, five years; Ginny Krebs, five years; Carol Joslin, five years; Cathy Schuler, 15 years; Henrietta Dell, 15 years; Mary Hubert, 15 years; Pat Cobo, 35 years; Bev Folt, 35 years; Betty Rumfola, 35 years; Joan Thompson, 35 years; Ann Mrugala, 35 years; Ginny Andrews, 50 years, Marie Benzing, 51 years and Rosamond Cobo, 70 years.

Two donations were received: $300 from TNT Sound Systems, who also provided the sound system for the event, for the replacement of the podium and $1,500 from the auxiliary for equipment updates.

You must be signed in to comment.

Click Here to create a Free Account

Click here to Sign in


Be the first to Comment